Announcing the Inagural Class of the Franklin Project Ambassadors Program

Posted by Yasmeen Shaheen-McConnell on May 06, 2015 at 10:58 AM

 We are excited to announce the launch of our new Franklin Project Ambassadors Program! This leadership development program and local engagement strategy will address three key goals over the course of the next year:



Make national service part of the 2016 election conversation


Increase the number of service year positions available in communities across the US


Steward the next generation of national service leaders


Over 170 people applied to the program in its inaugural year, and 45 Ambassadors were selected to join the program based on their community leadership, their creativity, and their demonstrated commitment to the Franklin Project’s “big idea”. Franklin Project Chair Stan McChrystal said of the Ambassadors: “We know it takes carefully planned and well-executed action to shift American culture, and we believe that the Ambassadors Program is the first step in the next wave of citizen-centered change in this country.”


Over the next 12 months, our Ambassadors will work with community stakeholders in 25 states to work toward making national service a cultural expectation, common opportunity, and civic rite of passage in their areas. If you are interested in being connected with the Ambassador in your city, please let us know!


The program will begin with an intensive three-day training in Alexandria, VA. The program is phased so that Ambassadors go through a one-on-one design process with Franklin Project team members, before planning for an executing on a local event in each Ambassador’s city that addresses the goals of the program. A capstone seminar at the end of the program will include skills-sharing, leadership development, and organized reflection.


We are honored to have the following people join our inaugural class of Franklin Project Ambassadors:


Alen Amini Gordon Rooney Mark Payne
Cincinnati, OH Charleston, SC Chicago, IL
Amanda Panciera Greg Ericksen Marquis Hawkins
Milwaukee, WI Los Angeles, CA Dallas, TX
Anna Lenhart Jamiel Alexander Matthew Blackwell
San Diego, CA York, PA Atlanta, GA
Brandon Bodor Jamison Braun Meghan Hughes
Chicago, IL Washington, DC Columbia, SC
Brian Pawlowski Jason Crow Michael Auerbach
South Bend, IN Denver, CO New York, NY
Catherine Cheney Jason Jaffery Mi'Jan Celie Tho-Biaz
Sacramento, CA Cleveland, OH Santa Fe, NM
Charls (Roch) Turner Jeff Bryant Mike Meaney
Hamilton, MT Reno, NV Phoenix, AZ
Chelsea Martin Jennifer McArdle Nikki Gusz
Lansing, MI Flint, MI Phoenix, AZ
Dan Sullivan Jillan Hishaw Patrick   Murray
Boston, MA Charlotte, NC Boston, MA
Dev Zaveri-Tabb John-Paul Smith Pete Kalenik
San Diego, CA Durham, NC Chicago, IL
Elizabeth Barrett Josh Fryday Randy Frazier
San Luis Obispo, CA San Francisco, CA Houston, TX
Elizabeth Collins Josh Visnaw Roger Wong
Wheeling, WV New Orleans, LA New York, NY
Geoff Wilson Kevin Ward Sarah Guy
Minneapolis, MN Seattle, WA Philadelphia, PA
Godfrey Plata Lauren Boswell Thomas B. Howard, Jr.
Houston, TX Atlanta, GA Vinton, IA
Gordon Liu Luis Chavez Whitney Parnell
Wiscasset, ME Fresno, CA Washington, DC


See more blog posts